T minus 1

This is my first blog! The motivation for starting is to document the next few weeks of taking the Engine 2 diet 28-day challenge.

A little background:

Last weekend, my husband and I watched Forks over Knives and were inspired to try a healthier lifestyle. We also watched the Engine 2 program and were sold.

We certainly can use a few pounds off and lower our cholesterol. I had my blood test on Monday and my husband will have his in 2 weeks. Hopefully we can see a drop in cholesterol. We’d like to incorporate some exercise in our plan as well.

While the challenge is a whole plant based diet with no meat or dairy, we decided that we would stick to the diet at home and prepare meals for work. However, in social or family settings, we will have the option to have meat and dairy if it is a family style meal. I’m hoping we will have enough self-control and awareness to choose the healthiest options available. Our goal at this point is not to be vegan for life but to try a healthy lifestyle change. If at the end of this process we learn about healthy ingredients, unprocessed foods and recipes and can incorporate that into our daily lives, that would be a success to us.

2.5 hrs of shopping over 2 days and $250 later (that’s $1 a minute!), this is the result of our first week’s groceries.

Image

This is everything except the few staples I already had at home, a few items that I couldn’t find at Stop & Shop (will go to Whole Foods tomorrow) and the Katalina’s cupcakes at the lower right corner of the photo. These are DELICIOUS vegan cupcakes that we had Friday night to kick-start our new diet.

Saturday morning will be our first vegan breakfast – RIP’s big bowl. I put the dry ingredients together (2 servings, one for me and one for my husband) tonight so that I will only need to prepare the fruit in the morning.

Image

Thus far, this process has taken up a lot of time and quite a bit of money for groceries. However, we spend a lot eating out and ordering in so this is a good investment of time and money into our health. I will try to do most of my shopping at Stop & Shop for the gas points and then I will go to Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s for ingredients I can’t find.

2 responses

  1. Love your first shopping trip. Looks like ours, and we too found that the initial purchase was a bit expensive. Our daughter is a slave driver and she’s gone Vegan and all organic. You may find, as we have, that we “fill up” faster…and actually haven’t had a problem avoiding meat/poultry. We did have a piece of fish, and ordinarily we would have been in Heaven – but found that it was truly a take it or leave it. We all love veggies and fruit and rice and beans…and grains…and enjoy the experimenting. I have had two flops. Our doctor’s nurse – I discovered on Friday – and her husband have started this program after viewing Forks Over Knives and the results for the two of them is amazing. They are completely Vegan, but have located some good veggie burgers in restaurants and good pizza at BRIXX. We will have a WHOLE FOODS opening here soon, so that’s exciting. Keep up the good work. I’ll be interested to hear how things are going for you!

Leave a Reply

