Day 5 Dinner – Portobello Mushroom Burgers and Sweet Potato Fries

I had an apple with nut butter for a snack between lunch and dinner. I also had a few bites of yummy 70% chocolate. Mmmmm.

Dinner was amazing tonight! Portobello Mushroom Burgers and Sweet Potato Fries!

Image

There hasn’t been a whole lot of cooking the past few days, but a lot of time on prep. Slicing and dicing. I’ve never used my Magic Bullet so much! I love using it for hummus, beans, (used it for the chocolate mousse tofu…ick) and banana ice cream! I think I will treat myself to banana ice cream tonight. 

I’m wondering if I should invest in a food processor. Would that cut down prep time in terms of slicing and dicing? I have a blender and a magic bullet so I’m good on the smoothies, hummus, ice cream, etc. Any thoughts or suggestions for other must have tools in the kitchen? 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. I’d say prettier and so good for you. I rarely pull out my food processor but it sure comes in hand when I do. I do a lot of freezer recipes. It comes in handy when I cook in bulk.

  2. I was in your situation, I had a blender and magic bullet. I just bought a food processor a few weeks ago. I got 10 cup Hamilton Beach from target for a little over $50. I love it. I haven’t used it a lot for slicing or grating but I’ve made hummus, cashew butter, Not So “Tuna” Salad, Chocolate Mousse, and other things. For me it is easier to clean than my blender and I like it for jobs that my Magic bullet just wasn’t big enough to handle. I still use my Magic Bullet for small jobs though. I held out almost 6 months after starting to eat Plant-Based before I bought it. I’m so glad I did now.

    • Thanks for the thought on the food processor. I have resisted using my blender because it is heavier and harder to clean but I am finding the magic bullet to be too small if I want to make a few days worth of hummus, etc. I will check out the Hamilton at target!

  3. I have a small Cuisinart food processor and blender, which I love. It’s easy to clean and serves two purposes. It’s great for hummus and doesn’t make large portions you end up throwing away. Just learned about your blog…so I need to catch up; however, I do enjoy The Kind Diet cookbook by Alicia Silverstone. Most of the ingredients can be found at Whole Foods. If interested I could send you a few I liked. Thanks for sharing your experience!

    Marsha

Leave a Reply

